Night at the Museum

Many of London’s museums and galleries stay open late into the evening once a week. You might think day or night makes no difference…

But it’s nice to break the daily routine once in a while. Instead of going home after work, I head for Bloomsbury.

british-museum-p1020724

The British Museum after six pm is a different place

The lights are dimmed. The crowds are gone; it’s quiet. I relax in the members’ room with my book and a glass of wine before going for a wander.

I can get up close to the most popular exhibits without an elbow fight. I can contemplate. I can read the labels in peace.

I can take pictures.

Till next Friday.

You might also like:
Made by the Egyptians: A Bust of Amenhotep IIIThe Mausoleum at HalicarnassusThree Hours at the British Museum
4 thoughts on “Night at the Museum

    1. There’s an idea! I’d be very pleased to meet you.

      I go quite regularly (the pictures above in fact are from several visits and I saved some for a second instalment) although I won’t go now probably till March as we’ve got other things on for the next few weeks.

      Like

  1. Wow I can’t wait till I can get somewhere museumy for a day out. I made it back to London last in 2011, booked train tickets at value price with late evening return for the Hayward’s advertised late evening opening, only to find they were closing at regular time. So I had to take a hike to Tate Modern for a fly round there instead to kill time. Next time I’ll stay out overnight sketching and get another daytime admission with less of a hike with it! Not sure I’ve ever been to BM. There’s so much competition for tourist time in London and most things are completely unaccordable for most of the general public. Nice to see your pics, thanks for sharing (loads fine on my mobile).

    Liked by 1 person

Comment is free...

