Riggers Aloft the Cutty Sark

Different from most other museum ships is the fact that all the ropes were installed. It is the 8 miles of rope and 3 miles of wire and chain that help make Cutty Sark’s rigging so spectacular.
(Who’s Who at Cutty Sark: Meet Rigger Andy)

Salvaging something of a rainy day in half-term with Young Friend of the Elephants – visiting the Cutty Sark in Greenwich… and catching the riggers at work aloft. (Yes, those are real people in the rigging. 🙂 )

P1010165.jpg

“She might be static, but in terms of rigging all she needs is some sails and she’s ready to go sailing!”
(Rigger Andy)


Cutty Sark riggers P1010167 reduced.jpg

“…at Cutty Sark we have to work safely around the visitors, and make sure they can flow around the ship without any problems.”
(Rigger Andy)

Cutty Sark riggers P1010144 reduced.jpg

“We paint and oil everything aloft, mainly to keep the water out and keep things from rusting.”
(Rigger Andy)

Cutty Sark riggers P1010190 reduced.jpg

“The sunsets from up on the rigging, with the red skies over London sites such as St Pauls Cathedral, Tower Bridge and the London Eye, are truly spectacular.”
(Rigger Andy)

Inspired by Ailsa’s travel theme: Neutral.

2 thoughts on “Riggers Aloft the Cutty Sark

  1. Thank you for liking my Victory posts. I have been a reader too all my life, and find the worst thing about the aging process is failing eyesight. Fortunately I can still read from an illuminated screen so I can keep up with my interest in history – ancient and modern. Congratulations on your approach to Herodotus. He has been unfairly treated often by critics – after all he often makes it clear that what he is reporting is hearsay. I enjoyed your Venice B&W shots – have always been a fanatical supporter of the medium .Like your comments on books not to read. Des.

    Like

    1. I never like a post unless I genuinely like them – if you know what I mean. 🙂 Your photos of the Victory were great… Much better than anything I’ve taken over the years. But I only just started to learn about photography, and Venice was the first place where I tried to put to use what I had learned. I have to go back to Portsmouth… and Chatham… and see if I can take some better shots. 🙂

      You’re very right about Herodotus… Not only he makes it clear when he’s reporting hearsay but often adds that he doesn’t believe it himself – like that instance of the deserter from the Persians who legend would have swum across the straits to Artemision completely under water! An unlikely feat. 🙂 I’d give you the link to that post but I’m on my phone so can’t at the moment. You can find it under my Best Stories of Herodotus, I think I titled it The Forgotten Battle. (Although I have to admit some of my battle retellings are not as good as they should be – it’s something I’ll have to improve upon if people are to be convinced that Herodotus is worth reading!)

      Like

Comment is free...

