I Must Go Down to the Seas Again…

Day 3 Assignment: Water & Orientation

On this assignment we’ve got water for theme, our relationship to water, what it reminds us of, etc. I love water so ideas come easily here from how precious drinking water is to the way rain water trickles down a window, from how all rivers lead to the sea to how you never step into the same river twice…


As for setting up the shot, we have to consider its orientation: ie. would the picture work better in a landscape or a portrait format (horizontal or vertical).

I begin to understand that the photography is actually an activity that involves engaging your conscious mind rather than just your eyes. I always thought photography was about capturing the view the way I see it with my eyes – for memory’s sake. While there’s nothing wrong with that, I think great photos probably all have a clear idea behind them – although I suspect great photographers can shoot instinctively rather than having to analyse the process point by point before clicking. I mean I’ve got literally thousands of shots about water – rivers, lakes, rain, absolutely unbelievable number of pictures about the sea… &c. – but I doubt I’d find any among them that would actually succeed to show my relationship to water or that would give you the slightest impression why I must have shot that particular image.

Anyhow: Water.

IMG_1519.jpg

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by;
And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea’s face, and a grey dawn breaking.

I must go down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull’s way and the whale’s way where the wind’s like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.

Sea Fever by John Masefield

6 thoughts on “I Must Go Down to the Seas Again…

      1. I add you to the list… 🙂 No, will do – I usually try to look at the blogs of people who like my stuff on the grounds that we share taste/interest. Besides I’m curious who they are. 🙂 I’ll never hit the follow/like button though unless I mean it – it’s not bilateral trade arrangement as far as I’m concerned!

        Like

  1. The composition of this photo is excellent I think, I like the way the rope coils and the rails and masts come in at angles…so much to see in this picture, the rippling water and the clouds… I like the orientation, too, the lines leading the eye into the sun… I too love the sea… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comment is free...

