Blogger Recognition Award

I’d like to thank Vibrant of blabberwockying! for nominating me for this award: I sure don’t know what I’ve done to deserve it but I take any praise that comes my way willingly and with thanks… Cheers, mate.

bloggerrecognitionaward

This is an award that originated with Eve of Edge of Night. In accordance with the rules, here’s my story… followed by my advice to new bloggers and the nominees for the next round.

“It’s Not Like Anybody’s Going to Read It”: How My Blog Started

It started during the summer holidays when I had nothing better to do. I typed my latest earth-shatteringly clever insight into my husband’s website editor because I got fed up with the way my family pulled faces at the dinner table whenever I tried to share my clever thoughts about books with them. At this point, I didn’t actually know what a blog was other than it’s people putting stuff on the internet for reasons best known to themselves… A day or so later I had another brilliant idea and I made another entry. At this point my husband inquired in passing as to what exactly I thought I was doing on his computer with his software… “I’ve started a blog,” I replied grandly and he went away.


Some days later he was testing the server he had just set up for work and not having anything better to test it with, he uploaded my “blog”. He was very pleased with the result (of his efforts, not my blog which he considered rubbish). Later, when I finished having hysterics at the idea that any random person now could read my unpolished thoughts, he pointed out that blogs were meant to be published. He seemed to think that this was a good line of defence and taking advantage of my temporary loss for words he helpfully added: “It’s not like anybody’s going to read it; you’ve got nothing interesting to say.” On this happy note, we left it on the server.

The last time he looked at it he complained that it gets too much traffic. Since then I fancy myself as a published author of clever thoughts on books – yeah, right, thoughts on books, okay?… And I’ve got lots of readers, mostly in the form of bots who spam me.

I know you don’t want to know any more about who I am, so that’s where we’ll leave it.

Don’t Bother to Blog About Books: My Advice to New Bloggers

Don’t bother to blog about books. It’s impossible to say anything new about them. Besides, do you really want to create competition for me?!… Think again.

And Finally My Nominees for the Next Round of Awards:

She’s No Lady because she writes in an engaging style about interesting topics

TJ Paris for his quirky and beautiful blog about all things French

London Choir Girl for her great idea to read her way round the world – a thing I might do myself yet

Chobe for her lovely blog with photos of Argentina (in Spanish)

A Blast From the Past because it’s got interesting posts on some really obscure bits of history

Medieval Books for sharing amazing Medieval books that we wouldn’t normally get the chance to know about

Vie Mystérieuse for blogging in two languages

The authors of Blogging101 – for the tremendous help and support they give to beginning bloggers

I’d’ve liked to add King Cricket for believing – as I do – that test cricket is the best form of the best sport ever… but his blog has already been recognised by national papers and frankly, I haven’t got the cheek to offer him our humble award.

The Rules for Blogger Recognition Award:

1. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to (sorry I’m failing on this one!).
2. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
3. Write a post to show your award.
4. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
5. Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers.
6. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
7. Attach the award badge to the post (right click and save, then upload).
8. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them.
9. Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night.

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. You graciously accepted this award! Thank you 🙂

    The reason why you got award: you are one of the most active bloggers I have met in the Blogging 101 course and you write well 🙂 Happy?

    You know why I am late in responding to this post? I mean if someone nominates you and you respond they should come and say a word or two too right? Right!

    Most of us rely on pingbacks–that is links to the posts on other bloggers 🙂

    Since you are going to deal a lot in the award market in days to come ( unless you decide to make your blog an award-free blog like many bloggers do!)

    You should learn using pingbacks. It’s simple:

    You have used links for homepages on all blogs including mine. Now if instead of link for the homepage you had used a link for a specific post on my blog as well as on other blogger’s blogs–that would have generated a notification called ‘pingback’ on our posts 🙂

    That way–you need not inform anyone about your response as well as nominations 🙂

    Since we follow many bloggers there is always a chance to miss these in Reader and mails but no chance to miss the pingback as it is like comment notification 🙂

    I came here after reading your post in the commons else I would have missed it and you might have considered me rude and I would have considered you unresponsive 🙂

    So pingbacks are life savers for many bloggers 🙂

    [ Sorry, I wanted to be brief but couldn’t ]

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Anand
      Thank you for coming back to me… I’m happy to learn how to use pingbacks but I’m not sure I understand what exactly it is or how to do one. I think it’s something specific to WordPress and I’ve never come across it before. My blog is self-hosted with a Jetpack plugin and I kept getting pingbacks from my own self whenever I connected to my WordPress.com account but I don’t know how I generated the pingbacks (and then I turned them off as they drove me bonkers). Could you give me an example on how actually to do it… like what I should have done to make a pingback to your original nomination? Thanks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comment is free...

