Ten @ Ten

I got bitten by the list mania bug today and here’s my first list: my top ten books when I was about ten. So here goes, in no particular order:

  • Winnie-the-Pooh by A. A. Milne
  • The Treasure of Silver Lake by Karl May
  • The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
  • Lassie Come Home by Eric Knight
  • Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome
  • Lottie and Lisa by Erich Kästner
  • Tizenkét halálos perc (Twelve Deadly Minutes) by Jenő Szentiványi
  • The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper
  • In Desert and Wilderness by Henryk Sienkiewicz
  • The Children of Captain Grant by Jules Verne

All right, it’s eleven.

 

5 thoughts on “Ten @ Ten

  1. I love “Swallows and Amazons” and the rest of the series as well. I also love the Little House books, Rosemary Sutcliffs young adult books, “Winnie the Pooh”, of course. But if I started a list, I’d run out of space and time so I’ll just stop there.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Welcome to my world! 🙂

      I was an adult by the time I came across the Little House books, hence not on this list. I remember Sophisticated Young Lady reading Little House on the Prairie when she was seven. I found it in a second hand bookshop nearby as I recall and she loved it, so we got a few more of them.

      Like

      1. My belief is that good children’s and young adult books are good books for all ages. Look at the Narnia books or Lord of the Rings and the books we’re talking about. Much of what’s out there today just seems like sensational junk to me, but maybe I’ve turned into an old fogey. Hot girls and guys in high school and shimmering vampires aren’t my cup of tea. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Comment is free...

